Continuing with Flower Drawing

flower 029Here is an update on the flower drawing. Drawing flowers, for me, starts by slowly building petal-by-petal. Here, you can see as I expanded upon the petals, from the center out.

Basically, I started each new petal by outlining it in white. Then, I would bring in the basic color of the petal, either pink or purple. I would add any additional medium tones to create depth and three dimensionality. Finally, I would place the darkest darks and highlights on each petal and in the shadows created by the petals overlapping.

flower 038I will have better photos as the flower continues, but hopefully this gives you an idea on how the process came along.

 

And here is the finished product:

Photography Prints

14 thoughts on “Continuing with Flower Drawing

  1. Sara, this is gorgeous! I drew and painted flowers for so long, I had to start doing other things. I haven’t done any in awhile now since I’ve been learning so much about sea turtles. Now they are all I can think about! πŸ™‚ Thank you for liking my Loggerhead sea turtle. What medium(s) do you use? Is it mixed media?

    1. Thank you so much! I understand what you mean about only being able to think about one subject. I get that way too where all I want to paint is one thing over and over.
      This is colored pencil on black paper. I also do a lot of graphite drawings and occasionally paint.

  2. Your colored pencil technique is amazing – I really like the in-process photo explanations as I’m learning a variety of media, often on my own, from the internet. Thanks for likiing my Mortician post – it’s always encouraging:) I’ll keep checking in for inspiration!

    1. Thank you so much. That means a lot. I’m glad you liked my tutorials. I’m going to be posting more very soon, so hopefully you’ll check those out. Keep up the good work. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

