Artist Quote – John Olsen

John Olsen Quote

This week’s artist quote is from Australian artist John Olson. The quote is, “Painting is a means of self-enlightenment.” I think this is true in many ways. Painting, or art in general, is a means of understanding yourself and the world better.          Allowing yourself to express the things in your mind, can help you view the world in new ways, to learn things about yourself, and to make new strides that you otherwise may not have been able to. I think any time you express your inner self, whether through art, writing, whatever your passion in life is, it can take you a tiny step closer to transcendence, because you are being true to yourself and striving to know yourself better.

What do you think about this quote? Do you agree that painting is a means to self-enlightenment? Or is art just having fun? I’d love to hear your opinions.

5 thoughts on “Artist Quote – John Olsen

  1. Painting is entertaining and something that will last. It is a way to allow a piece of our selves to last into future generations. It may even be a way to live forever. I do not see it as enlightening because painting is generally an expression of seeing. Either way, painting is done for highly selfish reasons 😉

  2. If I am doing it correctly, a painting brings out of me something I never realized before was there. Bright color-combinations, forms, images, metaphors, and other gook often pops out to surprise me, even if I had an initial plan for the work which I try to follow through on.

Leave a Reply

