New Drawing – Lemon – Colored Pencil – Tutorial

image
My newest drawing tutorial is of a sliced lemon.
Above, is the reference photo I started with. I tried to get a good composition with this photo. I cut the lemon into three slices, instead of two or four because odd numbers tend to be more pleasing to the eye. I also tried to keep the focal points around the intersection of lines using the “rule of thirds” method of composition, when transferring the sketch to paper. This helps create an interesting view when looking around the subject.
image
Here, I began by making a basic sketch, which I then transferred to a piece of black, Artagain paper.

Next time, we will see more of the progression.

Here is the finished product:

Sell Art Online

Do you find you love painting food? What are some of your favorite subjects for still lifes? Let me know, below.

Leave a Reply

