New Drawing – Black Cat

Hello everyone,

     Here is the start of my newest drawing. This is a colored pencil drawing of my black cat, Heisenberg; he’s the best. This was done with Prismacolor colored pencils on black Canson Mi-Teintes paper. 

     First, I started by sketching a drawing on sketch paper. I used a diagonal grid to help me get the proportions correct. With something like a human portrait or a pet portrait, it’s important to be quite accurate. While we might not notice little differences in a still life or a landscape, we will certainly notice if something is off in a drawing of someone we see every day. 

     

sketch

     Once I got my sketch how I wanted it, I transferred it over to the black paper. I did this by rubbing graphite on the back of the sketch paper, placing it over the black paper, and going over the outlines of the sketch. You can also use transfer paper, or use something like colored pencil or white chalk on the back of the sketch instead. That would be a good option, because it would show up better on the black paper.

sketch 2

    I’m very excited to show you all more of the process in the next few days. Thank you for visiting!

 

Here is the finished product:

Art Prints

12 thoughts on “New Drawing – Black Cat

  1. I’m looking forward to the in-process pics because I’ve done one picture on black paper and I ended up getting too much colored pencil wax on the paper, it was hard to blend/add, and the black paper is unforgiving of erasure.

    1. Oh, I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I think thin layers is key, and you can try picking up some of the colored pencil with putty or an eraser if you put too much on, but it’s tricky. It also depends on the pencil brand you use.

  2. Marvelous! Heisenberg’s so handsome he does deserve the modeling gig, and you’ve really done him justice with the intensity of the gaze accented by your cropping of the portrait and limiting the color palette mainly to the eyes. Love it.
    Kathryn

Leave a Reply

